City of Clovis Mayor and City Council

As the elected legislative body of the City of Clovis, the City Council has overall responsibility for the scope, direction, and financing of City services. The City Council, as the legislative body, establishes policy that is administered and implemented through full time staff under the Council-Manager form of government. The Council is also responsible for establishing land use policies through the General Plan and zoning regulations.

Clovis voters, at large, elect a 5-member Council to serve as the City's legislative and governing body. The members serve 4 year terms and they elect one member to serve as mayor and one to serve as mayor pro tem for two years. A general municipal election is held every two years, alternating, between two and three, positions each cycle.

Under the Council-Manager form of government, the City Council provides policy direction to the City Manager, who is responsible for administering City operations. In setting policy, the Council works closely with citizen advisory commissions and committees, considers staff information and recommendations, and receives comments from the general public.

Mayor Bob Whalen

Mayor Pro Tem Drew Bessinger

Council Member Lynne Ashbeck

Council Member Jose Flores

Council Member Vongsavanh Mouanoutoua

City of Clovis Staff and Department Directory

City Hall Information (559) 324-2000
City Manager (559) 324-2060
City Attorney (559) 324-2060
City Clerk (559) 324-2060
Finance (559) 324-2130
Utility Billing (559) 324-2130
Fire Department (Non Emergency) (559) 324-2200
Personnel/Risk Management (559) 324-2725
Recreation (559) 324-2780
Transit (559) 324-2768
Planning and Development Services (559) 324-2340
Building (559) 324-2390
Construction Management (559) 324-2350
Development Review (559) 324-2350
Engineering (559) 324-2350
Police Department (Non Emergency) (559) 324-2400
Public Utilities (559) 324-2600
Solid Waste (559) 324-2604
Streets, Parks and Water (559) 324-2600